• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
kcirbmab

Engine Structure - improvements?

This topic is 3041 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm beginning to get into game development and am working with Python with PySFML. A huge issue I'm having right now is the structure of the code itself. I was wondering if you could give me a few tips based on my current implimentation. The game will be a 2D shmup.

I've never done something like this before and I'm kind of roughing it, so I'm sure it could be improved (especially since I'm still very early in development).

Basically I have a "game" class which encompasses everything else. It's main functionalities right now are:
- it contains a list of current game objects (ie - player, NPCs, map, etc)
- a function to call update on all objects in the list
- it contains pointers to the input controller, graphics controller, game state, events etc.

I basically pass the game object to anything that needs any of the above. If the player character needs to access input or the clock, it can do so through the game object. If an object requires an image, it can find it in through the game object.

Is there a better way to do this? Any comments?

Advertisement
Sounds ok for a small game, but it's already apparent that your game class is taking on too much. Ideally, a class should only have a single purpose. You can put all game objects inside a Level class, and image caching into an ImageCache class. You could still have a central Game object that contains all these objects, but it no longer contains all that functionality itself.