• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
solidblu1992

Bullet Physics Compiler Error

This topic is 2958 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am trying to use Bullet Physics with my SDL and OpenGL game, but it is not compiling in Code::Blocks (newest version). I am using Ubuntu 10.04. The error is an undefined reference to btAllocateFree() (not sure if that is the exact function name). How can I get this to compile (and hopefully link) correctly, or are there any walkthroughs I might have missed regarding the installation of Bullet using Ubuntu and Code::Blocks?

P.S. are there any other open-source/completely free physics libraries that are better than Bullet?

Advertisement
I have never used bullet before. But this kind of errors occur when you don't include the library into the linker (like -lGL).

Quote:
P.S. are there any other open-source/completely free physics libraries that are better than Bullet?

I don't think so.

i don't think that Bullet Physics actually has a library, static or dynamic... I did however see a tutorial before on how to make it into a library, but I'm not sure how to include that into Code::Blocks, and i'm not sure if that would actually solve my problem

Use C-Make to generate C::B workspace, that should make your life easier.

AFAIK there isn't any benchmarks out there to find out which physics engine is better. There is other open source physics engines such as ODE, Tokamak, PAL, OPAL and tons of other physics engines that they are a little unknown.

Regards to choosing which physics engine to use, download their SDK and have a look at their docs and choose one that's more easier to use for you, because all of them have their cons/pros.