• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ncyphe

D3DX SetTransform

This topic is 3037 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Very quick question guys, and I need a quick answer.

The (D3DXGraohicsDevice)->SetTransform(~~) function that can be used to modify a mesh's position on screen. Can it still be used in conjunction with shader rendering?

Note that this is in C++.

Edit: This may be just hitting me now, but is the World matrix supposed to represent the actual position of an object in the world?

Advertisement
Quote:
The (D3DXGraohicsDevice)->SetTransform(~~) function that can be used to modify a mesh's position on screen. Can it still be used in conjunction with shader rendering?
I'm not an expert on DirectX, but I think SetTransform() is fixed-function only. (If that's wrong, I'm sure someone will correct me.)
Quote:
Edit: This may be just hitting me now, but is the World matrix supposed to represent the actual position of an object in the world?
The world matrix represents the world transform for the object. This can include translation (the position), rotation, scaling, shearing, etc. It doesn't represent any one thing, but rather a combined affine transform that can comprise any number of individual transforms.

But yes, in practice it's usually used to specify the position at which an object should be rendered, along with its orientation. Scaling is also a commonly applied transform (other transforms, such as shear, are less commonly used).

Thanks for the information.

All these years reading the tutorials and books, it sounded like the World matrix was for doing something like modifying the world axis, or I don't know what I thought.

The books all said, "Convert To World Space," why couldn't they have just said, "aligns the object within it world position, rotation, and scale."