• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
carpetfilter

Retro Text-based games

This topic is 2465 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi folks,

I worked in the IT industry for five years as a web developer, so while I have experience with languages such as C#, Java, PHP, and perl, I have done very little development that isn't web-specific. I left the industry and now have an itch to work on a hobby project I've been thinking about for a year.

I've always had a special place in my heart for a good DOS text game. ZZT was one of my all time favorites. In that vein, I have come up with the general idea of a sci-fi RPG I'd like to build. I could best describe the project as text-based Sims, set in a space ship not unlike a Soviet-era submarine, with RPG elements in place of house-building. The game will focus heavily on the interactions and relationships between a crew of five forced to live together in isolation from Earth. Four of the crew will be AI controlled characters. The fifth, the commander of the team, will be where the player comes in. I have some ideas on how to simulate moods, personality, character development, relationships, goals, memory of past events, etc. That's why I liken it to a text-based Sims: The Sims has similar simulated social dynamics.

I am fairly comfortable with OO, such as working with classes, interfaces (headers in C++ I guess they are called), etc.