• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
plywood

[web] Getting the image in the last frame of a SWF file

This topic is 2850 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am trying to make some heavy modifications to an open source Flash-based graphing utility called FusionCharts Free.

For my particular application, I need a way (in ActionScript) to access the last frame of the animation, and get at the actual image file/pic that was used for that last frame. I am not an ActionScript developer, and all my attempts to find an answer on my own have been futile. The closest methods I was able to find were gotoAndPlay(scene,frame) and gotoAndStop(scene, frame). Both return nothing and simply advanced the playhead to a specific scene or frame.

To reiterate, let's say I have 100 images that I want to put into a Flash animation (.SWF file) at the rate of 10 fps (with their being a 1:1 image:frame ratio, of course). Then we would have a 10-second animation, with 10 fps, and in the first second we might see the following images "scroll through":
1. ./images/frame00.gif
2. ./images/frame01.gif
3. ./images/frame02.gif
4. ...
10. ./images/frame09.gif

In this example, we might expect the last frame to be ./images/frame99.gif (the 100th image in the 100th frame). I need a way to get at that frame99.gif in ActionScript!

Because I'm not an ActionScripter, here is some pseudo-code that summarizes what I need to do; I'm not really worried about the semantics/syntax of AS right now as I'm confident I can figure the mechanics out once I know what methods to call:

// Obtain the image file
var imageFile = getLastFrame();

Thanks for any suggestions or input - thanks!

Advertisement