• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Waaayoff

[Assembly] Loops and input problems?

This topic is 2854 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I just started learning assembly (for fun) and i have 2 problems.

The first is that this generates an 'infinite' loop instead of just looping 5 times:

include '%fasminc%/win32ax.inc'

.data

inchar DB ?
numwritten DD ?
numread DD ?
outhandle DD ?
inhandle DD ?
string1 DB "Hello World!"

.code

start:
invoke AllocConsole
invoke GetStdHandle,STD_OUTPUT_HANDLE
mov [outhandle],eax
invoke GetStdHandle,STD_INPUT_HANDLE
mov [inhandle],eax

MOV ECX,5
loop1:
invoke WriteConsole,[outhandle],string1,12,numwritten,0
LOOP loop1

invoke ReadConsole,[inhandle],inchar,1,numread,0
invoke ExitProcess,0

.end start

Second problem is that i can't seem to be able to get input twice. With this program, the second ReadConsole doesn't seem to be executing.

.data

inchar DB ?
numread DD ?
inhandle DD ?

.code

start:
invoke AllocConsole
invoke GetStdHandle,STD_INPUT_HANDLE
mov [inhandle],eax

invoke ExitProcess,0

.end start

Oh and one more question, what does the %fasminc% in this line of code do? Is it specific to the FASM assembler i'm using?

Advertisement
Regarding your first problem. It looks like it should work. Try changing the "loopl" label into something more obviously a label. "loopl" is very close to looking like the loop instruction itself.

loop_label:
loop_start:
loop_top:

You are setting up a loop counter, but you aren't actually counting iterations or comparing to the counter or anything.

where are you testing for if your loop needs to be exited?

what i'm reading is

basically

put value 5 in register ecx

looplabel
write this to console
loop to looplable

Quote:
Original post by Zahlman