• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Planemo

C++ Primer Plus - string construction question

This topic is 2948 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im a new programmer and I have been trying to make my way through C++ Primer Plus and I have a question about one of the programming exercises at the end of chapter 4.

The questions says to write a program that asks the user to enter his or her first name and then last name, and that then constructs, stores, and displays a third string, consisting of the user’s last name followed by a comma, a space, and first name. Use char arrays and functions from the cstring header file.

I guess my problem is trying to use the method that I think the book wants me to use. I did come up with a program but it seems sort of strange and im thinking that I probably did this the hard way and missed the point that the book was trying to teach (if that makes any sense).

Anyway, here is what I came up with. Could someone tell me if this is what the book had in mind or if I was just lucky that it compiled at all? For example, it seems weird that I would have to plan to make the char array holding l_name (last name) to hold 20 elements so I could add f_name and l_name only to turn around and place it in a new variable.

#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>
//#include <string>
#include <conio.h>

int main()
{
using namespace std;
char f_name[10];
char l_name[20];
char full_name[20];

cout << "Please enter your first name: ";
cin.getline(f_name, 10);
cout << "Please enter your last name: ";
cin.getline(l_name, 20);

strcat(l_name, ", ");
strcat(l_name, f_name);
strcpy(full_name, l_name);

cout << full_name;

_getch();
return 0;
}