Sign in to follow this  

Feedback for my first level

This topic is 2634 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm studying in 3d arts and I recently created a map in UDK for an exam, I really liked the concept so I decided to push it further, so far I've only begun to upgrade the textures and i'm currently modeling foliage, but I'd like to know what people think about what I have done up until now. I'm open to whatever comment, good or bad, I want to improve and for that, I need to know what my mistakes are and what I can add to make It better.

Here's a link to a video of this map; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxzX2sYtJtY
If anyone wants better shots of certain objects, I can take closer snapshots.

Hope to get feedback soon!

A little update on my map, I just finished creating (putting together pieces of tutorials and examples on internet) two shaders for my map, a Half lambert and an outline post process.
to view the video, click on the link below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_0dx2tFEvCE

[Edited by - special821 on September 3, 2010 1:21:44 AM]

This looks really nice! I think the two questions I would pose to you are why does the water look so contrasted and bright next to the land and why are the textures on the ground and castle more realistic and muted then the toon shader clouds and trees.

I think they actually work well together, but I also think you could push them to make them more harmonious together. Try using a ramp shader if you're in Maya on the cartooney clouds, giving them more depth, or try making the castle more cartooney if you haven't already gone their.

I can imagine some really cool little toon shaded characters living in this world you created, so nice work!