Sign in to follow this  

So confused on animating bones basics

This topic is 2661 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I read through several tutorials about animating DirectX meshes with bone structures. They're all so confusing that I still am at loss as to where to begin. Currently I'm an expert C++ programmer and additionally specialize in C++ so the language isn't the problem.

All the tutorials have made animation seem like a daunting task even a simple demo ended up being like 20-30 something pages long.

Can anyone help me out in some way. I want to design video games and become fluent in all aspects of DirectX like I am C++ but not being able to provide bone animations provides for a pretty sorry video game or other 3D program.

Are you familiar with the concept of a spatial scene graph? If so, then you already understand 90% of doing bone based animation. If not, then check out the wild magic engine for some extensive lessons on how they work.

The basic idea is that each bone represents one node within a spatial hierarchy, and it just defines its orientation and position relative to its parent. All of the animation data just tells it how much rotation and translation to apply to itself, and it is normally keyframed or procedurally calculated.

Each vertex in the model is given a bone index that links it to one of these nodes (its common to blend between several bones, but that is just interpolation between two or more of the basic calculations, and isn't necessary for the first steps). When the model is created, it is stored in a 'bind pose' and all changes to bone position will be relative to their state in the bind pose.

All of the matrices that get calculated for rendering the model basically follow two steps for each bone: