Sign in to follow this  

Creating texture of monitor size with card supporting Non Power 2 Conditional

This topic is 2653 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi all,

I am trying to create a texture of size (1280x1024) and (1920x1080) in my directX application (Managed C#).But my garphics card dosen't allow NPOT but it supports POT Conditional.
I came across few posts where they mentioned about following few conditions,

1. Texture address mode to clamp
2. Wrapn to 0
3. No mipmaps
etc.

Since i am new to direct X and its is a must for me to create non power 2 textures.Kindly help me to create such textures by providing some code to achieve these conditions or is there any other method to create NPOT Textures.

Regards
Rajacc

1. Set the texture address mode for the sampler that the texture is in to Clamp (The stage is probably 0 unless you're doing multi texturing)
2. Unless you change the wrap mode, it already defaults to 0, so you don't need to do anything here
3. When you create the texture, specify 1 for the number of mip maps
4. You also cannot use compressed texture formats when you create the texture

I can give you the code in C++ if it's any use, but I don't know C#.

EDIT: Corrected: Need to specify 1, not 0 for number of mip maps.

[Edited by - Evil Steve on September 2, 2010 5:39:38 AM]

Make the texture a power of 2 and use a subset of the pixels. For example, make a 2048*2048 texture and only consider pixels X=0-1680 and Y=0-1050. Then, if you need to write to disk you can crop it to a user specified resolution.

Hi Steve,
Thanks for replying.I am working on 3D generation by matrix interlacing of multiple views and hence arrangement of pixels should be highly accurate.