Sign in to follow this  

where can I found a C++ framework of an engine

This topic is 2656 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi

I would like to start creating a game engine in C++ using OpenGL.
I studied OpenGL and I think I'm ready to give it a try.
But I would like to start with a frame work where the basics are present so that I do not have to invent the wheel again.
I just want the basics to be present and from there try my own special things.
So that I do not need to write the code to initialize stuff, send vertixes to the card and matrix operations etc.

I could check some open source game engine but there are already a lot of choices made in these engines that layout a particular structure for that engine. I want to make may own choices. Starting almost from scratch.

I need some code that I can use in a commercial product. I'm willing to buy some little framework if it exists.

Any suggestions?

Quote:
Original post by melomania
Quote:
Original post by oler1s
Sounds like you want SDL or SFML.

It seems to me these are targetted towards 2D applications.
I was thingking about 3D.

Both provide a rendering context that you can hook OpenGL into.

It sounds like you would enjoy G3D. It is C++ and wraps most of the functionality of OpenGL, but you can still intermix raw OpenGL calls if you wish. It also includes a nice 3d math library that you can use by itself, or use your own math lib, or use ALL of the features of the engine and just focus on your game. In short, you can use as much or as little of the framework as you want.