Sign in to follow this  

total newbie wants to make simple text games but needs help.

This topic is 2662 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, um, I am not sure what programming language to use, it doesn't matter, as long as it's the one most or second most used. (C++? java?) could someone please help and tell me what to download so I can start making a text game?

oh, and im on a PC.

Yep; I haven't used python in a while, but a quick google shows that it can output to the console. It can also change the color of the text and background (or just portions of text) - but only the limited colors that the console allows (10 or so colors - same as C++).

Quote:
Original post by namragog
I have looked at the tutorials and stuff, but I can't find one on how to make a text game. please help!

The best way to learn how to make a text game is first of all getting familiar with the language you are going to use, because doing so will most likely inspire you to figure out how to design your game. I have never used Python myself, but most programming languages make heavy use of data structures that allow you to store multiple "units" of the same type (eg. swords, rooms, players, messages etc.).

For example, let's say you are making a quest game where the user has to walk around in a virtual world and the actions he/she performs decides what is going to happen, like

"You are standing in an old house, to you left is a door and to your right is a chest."
> open chest
"You open the chest and find a short sword (1D6)"