Sign in to follow this  
Qforce0

Looking for a good engine

Greetings all.

I am a computer programmer who is intending to write my first 3d game. I have already written a 2d openGL game using a custom physicis engine and collision detection. (pretty much simple but realistic a 2d space sim in openGL)

I am looking to start creating a 3d game, but i want to use an engine to save myself the work and make it possible. I know how to model in 3d so the art wont be a problem.

What i would like to do is find a good engine that is very open ended in regards to what is possible.

I need to be able to load maps in a tile based manner, but due to the requirements of the game, they have to be allowed to be any mesh, not just a typical square height map.

I was thinking of using truevision3d, but it seems a bit dated. Also, although i am under the impression that TV3d supports tile based loading, all the methods ive seen specified use a typical square height map as the terrain.

I want collision detection which TV3d includes.
I also need a physics engine that is open enough that i can use the equations i have written to specify fundamental forces, like gravity, as a vector/scalar that may take any form.

Graphical quality is secondary in this game, but since i have decent modeling skills and computers are getting more powerful, i expect it to be atleast as good as a typical game from 2005, which should be easy enough with TV3d since i have seen some decent screenshots.

Does anyone have any advice as to an engine that would be better? I need a realisticly unrestrictive licence, so something like unrealengine3 is out of the question... i may try to profit from this game if it works well.

If anyone has used truevision3d, i have some questions:
is it possible to load large arbitrary shaped meshes as tiles of the terrain? (non square, not heightmaps... just a bunch of traingle faces)