Sign in to follow this  

Stable code

This topic is 2635 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I have been programming for about 2 years now.
Mostly in c plus plus.
Been working in the win32 and direct-x apis doing both 2D and 3D applications.

I consider myself to have the basic knowledge, but as they say, "the more you know the more you realize how little you know".

I would like to get some clarifications on what stable code is.

Any examples would be great.

Thanks in advance :)

Quote:

if(values.size() > i)
{
return values[i];
}

Definitely a step in the right direction, but writing stable code is about thinking of EVERY possible way the code could go wrong and making sure it no longer can.

It's a mindset you will get yourself into after a while of practice. Go through your code you already have and imagine what would happen if input in your functions was not as expected. Think of the entire range of a given data type when you see it coming into a function. For example, integers can be negative, so:

if ( values.size() > i && i >= 0 )
{
return values[i];
}

in addition to making sure you handle unexpected input well, handling your memory correctly will also go along ways into making sure you code is stable,

nulling pointers when they are first declared,
anytime a pointer is deleted nulling it
and possibly implementing some form of garbage collection or reference counting can go along ways to making your code stable

one of the things that has helped me the most with making sure my code is stable, using readable/understandable variable and function names

Quote:
Original post by empirical2
AFAIK Stable code is simply code that:
1. Is bug free or as close as possible.
This. Stable code should be well tested, and unlikely to need change in the near future.
Quote: