Stable code

Started by
21 comments, last by iMalc 13 years, 6 months ago

Hello, I have been programming for about 2 years now.
Mostly in c plus plus.
Been working in the win32 and direct-x apis doing both 2D and 3D applications.

I consider myself to have the basic knowledge, but as they say, "the more you know the more you realize how little you know".

I would like to get some clarifications on what stable code is.

Any examples would be great.

Thanks in advance :)
Advertisement
AFAIK Stable code is simply code that:

1. Is bug free or as close as possible.
2. Is not breakable by invalid input or abnormal or unexpected situations.

Ok, so for example.

Lets say I want to get a value from an std::vector.

I would go about:

if(values.size() > i){   return values;}

instead of just:
return values;
Quote:
if(values.size() > i)
{
return values;
}

Definitely a step in the right direction, but writing stable code is about thinking of EVERY possible way the code could go wrong and making sure it no longer can.

It's a mindset you will get yourself into after a while of practice. Go through your code you already have and imagine what would happen if input in your functions was not as expected. Think of the entire range of a given data type when you see it coming into a function. For example, integers can be negative, so:

if ( values.size() > i && i >= 0 ){   return values;}
This man made my day: http://www.gamedev.net/community/forums/topic.asp?topic_id=523021

Thanks for the input.

If there is no more to stable code than that, I should be able to grasp it!

in addition to making sure you handle unexpected input well, handling your memory correctly will also go along ways into making sure you code is stable,

nulling pointers when they are first declared,
anytime a pointer is deleted nulling it
and possibly implementing some form of garbage collection or reference counting can go along ways to making your code stable