Sign in to follow this  
Fellshadow

Physx tutorials?

I tried asking this on the official Physx forums, but those are dead apparently.

I'm currently trying to learn Physx (along with Directx and becoming more familiar with C++). I'm a first year student of Game Design so my programming isn't fantastic yet, but I pick things up pretty quick.

I worked through the first tutorial or so that came with the SDK, although finding it unclear sometimes, I felt confident that I understood what I read...
Until I looked at the sample code and found it differs quite a bit from what was actually written in the tutorial. So I was wondering if anyone knows of any other tutorials that are maybe a little bit more.... reliable? If not, any other advice would be very much appreciated.

[Edited by - Fellshadow on September 28, 2010 6:19:50 AM]

I would start by wrapping the actors and shapes in PhysX with your own simple game object types. Only deal with rigid bodies to start.

Also, you need to see the debug renderable from PhysX IMMEDIATELY, as well as in your game engine. Until you can see where your engine thinks things are, and where
PhysX thinks things are, you will have a really tough time debugging.

If you have specifics, I can probably help on the easy stuff, as I have had some success with PhysX rigid bodies, but I haven't dared get into the advanced features yet :)

Well, that sounds good in theory, but in reality the visual debugger is broken and crashes if you have more than a few things going on. Also, you cannot easily compare your game objects to PhysX objects.

IMO, it's better to simply retrieve the vertex list and render it in-engine.

Quote:
Original post by programmer_tom
Well, that sounds good in theory, but in reality the visual debugger is broken and crashes if you have more than a few things going on. Also, you cannot easily compare your game objects to PhysX objects.

IMO, it's better to simply retrieve the vertex list and render it in-engine.