Sign in to follow this  
signal_

New to MP - Need perspective on starting

I am in the initial planning phases for what I would like to do. So I have a few pre-planning questions that hopefully someone can shed some light on.

I read the FAQ and will probably be going back to it often as I learn this stuff better.

Since I am new to this and would like an easier solution, without reinventing the wheel, I am initially considering something like RakNet. Would an experienced expert consider this a good option?

Secondly, I am not thinking MMO scale. As far as I can tell, some MMOs support 1000+ players on a single server (not totally sure of the veracity of this, having only performed a cursory search). What is a scale that would work for someone who wants a small project and is new to this? Is 20 players too much? 50? I cannot see this project going over 100. What would be a ballpark estimate? The answer to this likely will tie into my last inquiry:

Lastly, I will briefly quote a section of the FAQ:
Quote:
Q20) I need a server that will stay up longer than my cable modem, but typical web hosts won't let me run my own server program. What are my options?
Assuming you don't have friends or a school that'll allow you to run your internet server process, you have four basic options:
1) Self-managed Hosting
2) Virtualized Hosting
3) Server Co-location
4) Roll Your Own

Having never run a server, the above FAQ question indicates that is possible to run one out of one's home via an always on cable modem connection. Regarding my second question above is this option viable for a MP game serving something like up to 20, 50, 100 players?

I read about options 3 & 4: too expensive. Option 2, in the FAQ, was regarded as suitable for turn based games so that's out.

So I am left with option 1, hosting it at my home. I would like to host it at my home to begin with and would look to option 1 at a later date. Is this viable?