Sign in to follow this  

Looking for some math ideas regarding a crypto protocol

This topic is 2631 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've run into a road block when trying to understand the math that goes on in a specific crypto protocol I am studying for educational purposes.

First, this is how it's setup. The client generates values using these two equations:

- 4 (in this specific case, I think this is an important part of it)
- large 512-bit fixed number (assuming prime)
- large 512-bit fixed number (assuming prime)
- client generated 512-bit number

Now, the client keeps B secret but will send A to the server. The server would already know , , and .

From here, the server processes A and does some unknown operations with it. This is the process that I am currently trying to understand.

After the server does its work, it will send some data back to the client (a 20 byte stream of data) which will XOR it byte by byte with the first 20 bytes of B and then passes the result into a function that modifies it some more, basically performing some additional operations on it to come up with the final key. This key is then used to build the encryption and decryption keys through a "scramble" algorithm (i.e. Like a sliding block puzzle).

Considering all of this, this is what I've come to understand from my research:

* The discrete logarithm problem basically tells us that the a value the client generates cannot be realistically calculated by the server over the entire range of possibilities it might be. Even if we could brute force our way through 0 to the max 512-bit number, the modulus would eventually wrap around and generate multiple solutions.

* According to RSA:
Quote:
Encryption: Sender A does the following:-
1. Obtains the recipient B's public key (n, e).