Sign in to follow this  
b3y0nd3r

Unity About new Unity 3.0

hey guys,

Newbie here, I've just read the review of Unity in the main page, and downloaded the free version. But I think I'm not getting the point of the Unity's usage. I mean, it is a game engine, but "how" do you develop a project using Unity?
Looking at the workflow, it seems you create some terrain, put some objects and get them to interact. I don't think that is the point of Unity, because it would be so limited.

I've seen it has some scripting. That means you only have to code that scripts? I'm learning C++ but I don't see where you have to "code" the game using the engine...

Anyone using Unity?

Thanks!

Quote:
Original post by b3y0nd3r
Looking at the workflow, it seems you create some terrain, put some objects and get them to interact.

Yep, that sounds about right.

Quote:
I don't think that is the point of Unity, because it would be so limited.

How so? From what I've seen, Unity seems to have everything you'd want in a game engine... Dynamic-lighting, physics, etc.

Quote:
I've seen it has some scripting. That means you only have to code that scripts? I'm learning C++ but I don't see where you have to "code" the game using the engine...

Anyone using Unity?

I've only played with Unity for about a half-hour, but yes, you create scripts with either javascript, C#, or Boo (a dialect of Python). You could use C++ to create dlls or plugins perhaps.

Coding is only one part of game makeing. (~30% of game making)

Unity has precoded components that game uses, and components are controlled
with script language. (time critical things are hardcoded in to components
and non-time critical is left for scripting languages)

And you can use Unity without using terrain component, terrain just happens to be
common element in games, so Unity has special component to speed up game makeing.

<rant>

Programmers are not best game desingers,
becouse making entertaintment is not about logic
but of imagination!