Sign in to follow this  
seifist

Collision Detection Idea (from a newbie)

seifist    100
I am new to game development, I come from a primarily web based software development background, so forgive me if this question belongs in the "For Beginners" section.

I have been working on developing a simple 2d game engine (or library, whatever you want to call it) and I have a question about collision detection.

I have built in the basic three types of collision detection so far: Object-to-object bounding-box, Object-to-object reduced bounding-box and Object-to-Point pixel-level. I want to give myself the option to choose on the object level, at the "level" level and/or at the game level which one to use, for scalability, flexibility, whatever...

I am finding though, for non-rectangular polygons (namely vector objects or oddly shaped sprite objects), pixel by pixel is too taxing on resources (for the environment I am using), and reduced bounding-box doesn't work as well as I'd like. I am working on another option for collision detection, that would essentially sit between reduced bounding-box and pixel-level I am calling "grid-level" detection.

In this option, the plane would be broken up into a grid that has larger squares (10 X 10 to 100 X 100 pixels). It would essentially function like pixel level detection, but with "bigger pixels". The plane would have a two dimensional array of which grid squares were occupied and before an object tried to move into a new set of grid squares it would check to make sure they were occupied. The size of the squares within this grid would be scalable, and you would be able to fine tune it to get a balance of accuracy and resource optimization. Bigger grid squares would require less resources but also be less accurate, and visa versa.

Forgive me if "grid squares" isn't the proper term, I was in the military and anytime I think of grids I automatically go to my military terminology.