Sign in to follow this  
nemo_vgi

Assembling a Development Team

Hey, I have been following these forums for a while now but only just registered today.

I am wondering how one would assemble a development team without having money behind them?

I have been working on my game design for a few months now, and feel if I had the right people, it could have been at a demo standard right now. However, I understand if I want to make a good game, I need a good team, and people who are good at what they do, would want paying.

I'll be honest and say I have no programming capabilities, and can not draw, however I am fresh out of college after studying music and have many tracks that could be used in different genres of games, not to mention I am working on the design of my own game. As part of a team, I would work on the music, as well as describing how the game should play, look and feel.

To sum up I guess what I am saying is, for someone who has a game written down, including story, mechanics, ideas for art, and a lot of music recorded for it, but has no job and no money to pay artists and programmers, how could I assemble a team and get started on this game properly? (If it makes a difference, it is a fighting game that I hope to get to a PS3/360 standard. I know I'm aiming high, but I am realistic about my goals. I don't expect to get a game on a next gen console over night).

This was meant to be short, I get carried away explaining things though.

Thanks for your replies.

Quote:
Original post by nemo_vgi
I am wondering how one would assemble a development team without having money behind them?

So it'll be a team of amateurs, since pros will not work for free.
Then it's simple -- go on the Help Wanted board and write such a great announcement that people will want to work with you.