Sign in to follow this  
Dark_Dream

Game engine or something else?

Dark_Dream    100
Hello all,

First, some info about me: I'm a professional (mostly web) developer for the last 5+ years (and some more as a hobbyist/student) working with PHP and Java (and some front-end languages like javascript which are irrelevant for my question). I also have C++ knowledge but it was some years ago and only on academic level.

My experience in game development is very small and only as a hobby: I've built a couple of (very simple and static) browser games using php/mysql and a couple of tetris-like (very basic animation) games in Java.

Along with my job I'm studying for a phd degree. My research is on game AI algorithms, therefore at some point I'll have to develop a prototype to demonstrate & evaluate my proposed algorithm. I see that as my opportunity to deal with game development more seriously than I used to.

My question:
Do you believe I should start learning a game engine? If yes what would you propose? I've done a very quick research on them and I saw that Unreal engine is very popular (it was used on several academic projects as well as in commercial and I also liked Unity. Unfortunately I soon got lost into all the available engines (there are A LOT!) and I thought that it would be better to ask you.

Maybe dealing with a game engine is the wrong way? Maybe I should try and build something more complex than the things I've build (remember the tetris-like games I've mentioned before) by using the core languages (Java or C++?) and maybe some graphic libraries instead of complete 3d game engines?

I'm a little confused and I'd appreciate any suggestion and/or any help to clarify things (especially if I'm saying something completely wrong).

Thank you :-)

Dark_Dream    100
Unity this is one of the two engines that I picked from the bunch (I've mentioned it before). Do you think that it worth it?