• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
DimitriA

Advice on direction

This topic is 2979 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey all,

I'm 20 years old working as a Full Time Web Programmer (PHP) with on/off experience using C++ which probably totals around half a year, I've always tried to learn it but when I was younger I felt it would always overwhelm me. I understood memory management easily, but things like multithreading, those crazy names everywhere, and the STD - I was just whoaa...
So I stuck with my comfort zone which was Visual Basic6 at the time - and I can admit I got really good at, which helped me land a job.

My goal is to eventually be able to pick up 3D Game development (as a learning experience, and possibly a hobby... also for fun to do silly things with friends :p); I never went to college, I am a self-taught programmer (I have close to 5-6 years experience - I was given VB3 when I was 10 and I found it fascinating it became my new toy).. anyhow that aside

So recently I decided to be serious in learning the language, even though I am only at week 3 now I feel I have come fairly far; I bought the book Accelerated C++, which taught me ALOT about the std, memory management and pointers, and just basic programming conventions - I have gone through and done almost all of the exercises (I still have the last 2 chapters to do - I just haven't been able to put the book down), and I have been going through the SDK + http://www.functionx.com/win32/ for Win32 programming. I've followed tutorials for DirectX9 (also from the DirectX SDK), I've made a triangle, rotated it, made a mesh - also rotated it :p.. you name it, I've rotated it! But its not enough (is it ever? :p) - so where from there?