• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Spl3en

OpenGL [SOLVED] Depth buffer problem

This topic is 2834 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I'm nowadays developping a game using OpenGL.
By the way, I'm a novice about this library, so i'm still doing some common mistakes.

I tried so hard to fix my depth buffer problem, but i can't do anything about that ;

Here is the screenshot of the game, without the problem (my boxes' depth are very low) :

Now, if i put some depth on my boxes...

(For those who would like an animation, i recorded the problem there :
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=ZPK99ZWG

Well, I paste some of my code, tell me if i'm doing something wrong. (Well, I guess I do...)

// Init function
void init ()
{
glutInitDisplayMode(GLUT_RGB | GLUT_DOUBLE | GLUT_DEPTH);
glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
}

// Drawing routine
void draw ()
{
glClearColor(0.1, 0.1, 0.1, 1.0);
glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT);

glMatrixMode(GL_MODELVIEW);
glLoadIdentity();

gl_plateau_draw(gc->glPlateau);
glutSwapBuffers();
}

Can you help me ?
If you need more code, I can copy / paste there.

Thank you ! :)

EDIT :
Oh ... I just noticed that switch
glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);
and the
glutInitDisplayMode
was doing something better ...

There is still something wrong in the drawing of my boxes ; Sometimes my boxes are filled, sometimes not. (depends of the position of the camera)

[Edited by - Spl3en on October 19, 2010 2:41:38 PM]

Advertisement
Try glDisable(GL_CULL_FACE). Polygons have a front and back side, and back-facing polygons are commonly culled away. Usually this is a good thing, and if you order your vertices correctly you will still get the correct behavior, unless you need to be able to view the same polygon from both directions.

Thank you for the reply Erik, it's really appreciated :)