• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Binary Boy

OpenGL [SOLVED] Offscreen buffer problem

This topic is 2832 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've been developing my graphics engine for about 6 months now, and I've tested my lighting functions, model render functions and general 3d functionality, which is all good.

But now that I am working on the 2D part of my engine, I am finding it extremely difficult to get any kind of functionality in OpenGL that is similar to blitting to an offscreen surface in DirectX.

I've been scanning the forums, and I can see that it is possible, but I cannot get it working.

My only option at the minute is looking like I will have to copy blocks of unsigned chars around in system memory, then generate a texture to get the same effect.

I have tried using the framebuffer object (shortened)...

// where is the code tag on this HTML editor by the way?
#include <gl/glext.h>
#include <gl/wglext.h>

// -> Windows initialisation and GL initialisation here <-

PFNGLGENFRAMEBUFFERSEXTPROC glGenFramebuffersEXT;
glGenFramebuffersEXT = (PFNGLGENFRAMEBUFFERSEXTPROC) wglGetProcAddress("glGenFramebuffersEXT");

// Crashes here because glGenFramebuffersEXT = 0
glGenFramebuffersEXT(1, &fbo);

I have OpenGL Extensions Viewer 3.0 installed and it shows that this function is available on my NV GeForce 9400.

I also started to look at creating pBuffers, but that didn't work either and it was massively complicated.

Why is it so difficult to do a common graphics programming tasks in a world leading API?

I don't want to switch to DirectX, but at the minute, it's looking like a promising option if OpenGL lacks the basic functionality for 2D graphics too!!

[Edited by - Binary Boy on October 20, 2010 1:47:17 AM]

Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

• Advertisement

Important Information