• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
AmigaUser

Keeping object instances alive?

This topic is 2950 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to this so please excuse my ignorance, I have function in a header file that creates numerous object instances.

This header file is included in the main source file and when the aforementioned function is called it produces the objects as required, however upon completion and the focus is returned to the main source file the instance variables are no longer accessible to me.

The CPP file has this:

GenerateNPCs(2);

And the included header file has:

class NPC
{
public:
int vision;
}

and (in brief)

int GenerateNPCs(int number_of_NPCs_to_create)
{
NPC Plyr[100];
Plyr[x].vision = iRnd(60);
Return 0;
}

When doing a step by step run-through GenerateNPCs(2); amongst other things gives Plyr[x].vision a random value, however when after we hit the Return 0; the debugger gives me the following error;

Plyr[0].vision CXX0017: Error: symbol "Plyr" not found

By inaccessible I mean that once the function is completed and returns to the next step I can no longer access the Instance variables created.

I'm not sure if what I want is possible but after calling GenerateNPCs (and its completion) I would like all object instances and associated variables to remain accessible for manipulation.

I've been told that my object instances are being destroyed by the ending of the GenerateNPCs function above, how do I stop this and make them available to all my functions?

Advertisement
Plyr is a local variable not an instance variable. So it's gone after the function finishes. Why not have the GenerateNPCs function return the array? You might also reconsider putting function definitions in your header files.