• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gregsometimes

Game making tutorial for beginners

This topic is 2918 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have been writing tutorials on various subjects for over 7 years.

Here is a page I added to Authentic Society encyclopedia explaining how to build a first game in the C++ language, for beginners.

By beginners, I mean absolute beginners.

http://www.authenticsociety.com/about/WriteOwnGamesC

Can anyone tell me how much does the average Gamedev person knows about making games, compilers, programming languages, etc. ?

What type of tutorials would you guys like to see the most? Please leave your answer.

[Edited by - gregsometimes on November 19, 2010 3:10:13 AM]

Advertisement
This is a good start for most beginners but you should also include some for of primer for c++ after this, and explain how if, else, return, all work
and then go into making a an interactive game.

Quote:
Original post by FritzMar
This is a good start for most beginners but you should also include some for of primer for c++ after this, and explain how if, else, return, all work
and then go into making a an interactive game.

Fritz, that's a very good point. The page clearly needs an explanation of how the programming language works, at least the parts that are used in the source code.

Thank you for your feedback.

If you're going for absolute beginners to coding, maybe you want to give a detailed primer of C++ first and give some exercises in their relative sections so that the beginner may get used to the concepts they were just explain.