• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  

PHP Game?

This topic is 2738 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello,

I'm a PHP Programmer and I always wanted to make a MMORPG.
Nowadays with so many flash games with intuitive and beatiful GUI (zynga games for example), will a PHP game be sucessfull in the market?

What do you think?

PHP games are something that will died forever?

Left your 2cents.
That will be good for me to think in wasting time to make or not a PHP game cause I'm not a flash programmer.

Advertisement
Flash is a client-side application. PHP is a server-side script. So you'll need something client-side. I assume you're thinking HTML in which case yes PHP works and will work for a game. You can actually make a multiplayer game using long polling. With new technologies like the HTML 5 canvas tag you can do your game rendering without Flash.

Depends what kind of game you want to make.

Naively you can use straight PHP with no cronjob or anything to create a real-time game. The trick is to rely on AJAX requests that happen less than 5 seconds apart to be done on the same connection. Don't expect this strategy to scale, but you can use a database for the state of a game. That is your clients send input asynchronously with AJAX which sets input columns in a database. In the same PHP file you run a transaction that checks if it's time to update and if so updates the game based on the state in the database. Then at the end gather all the data for the player and echo it back. This works for really small games, but not MMO scale.