Sign in to follow this  

2D game like secret of mana?

This topic is 2593 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there, I'm new to game programming and I would like to make a game like Secret of Mana. I don't want to make a SNES rom, I would like to make it a computer game specifically for the computer. I have some questions though.

Since I'm new to programming, what programming language would you recommend I build the game in? Are there certain game engines I could use to make it easier? Certain sound engines and graphic engines to use? Also, are there any recommended tutorials to follow to lead to building games?

I'm looking to make my own graphics, sounds (possibly) and music for the game. If you could help me with finding any programs for making these things easier, that would help me a bunch. If there's anything else that you could add such as tutorials, that would help me too. Thank you for your time.

This all depends how you want to set it up

I use adobe flash and Acionscript 3 for my 2d games.
sounds i just google if i need some
Music i make my own with FL Studio
Graphics i have someone else make because i am a horrible artist. just horrible.

there are game makers out there but if you want to go that way but i'm not a big fan of them.

other languages you could learn are C++,C#,Java just to name a few
youwill also want to learn maybe OPenGL or Xna studio.

I use flash because you can simply draw / animate the characters in flash save as a movieclip and ready to go.

but still you will not be able to jump right into Game Programming. you wil need to learn the core of the language you choose to go into.