Sign in to follow this  
svnstrk

help understanding deferred shading

svnstrk    133
hi,

i just read a paper about deferred shading, well more to skim than read :D
as i understand, the point of this shading is it copy the position information of each pixel on the screen, render it as a texture, and use this texture to calculate the lighting intensity on each pixel.

now im kinda new to glsl too but isnt it the same as doing per pixel lighting in glsl? so what i have in mind is the vertex shader send the position to the fragment shader (via gl_vertex) and by sending the lights position to glsl (via uniform variable or whatever) we calculate the value of each pixel.

doesnt it the same concept or did i miss anything? is yes, how can defffered shading boost up the performance vs let say per pixel lighting?

thanks in advance

DarkChris    110
You would have to render every light with every object in the scene with standard forward rendering... Also you would lighten objects that can't even be seen... It's a total waste of performance... So deferred rendering or light pre-pass which seems to be the better solution, solve this problem by rendering all the necessary information needed for the lighting into a so called g-buffer. And since the pixels you see in the g-buffer, are the only pixels needed to be lit, you never illuminate pixels that aren't seen in the final frame.

Light Pre-Pass means that you render your g-buffer, but only keep information in there needed to calculate the lighting and than combine all that afterwards in a full 3D-pass again. So every object needs to be projected twice. Light Pre-Pass is absolutely necessary if you want to have Precomputed Radiance Transfer for example, since you don't want to keep all your spherical harmonics coefficients in the G-Buffer.

MJP    19754