How to detect multiple key presses in OpenGL?

Started by
4 comments, last by lordmonkey 13 years, 5 months ago
Hello everybody,
I am pretty new to OpenGL so please try to understand me :).
I have that beautiful function

void key(unsigned char k, int x, int y)

which is posted to OpenGL in :

glutKeyboardFunc(key);

but with this function I can only detect one key being pressed at a time. How can I do it to detect multiple key presses ?
Advertisement
Quote:Original post by lordmonkey
I am pretty new to OpenGL so please try to understand me :).
I have that beautiful function

which is posted to OpenGL in :

glutKeyboardFunc(key);
Note that this is actually a question about Glut, which is only tangentially related to OpenGL. Regardless:
Quote:but with this function I can only detect one key being pressed at a time. How can I do it to detect multiple key presses ?
It will be called once each time a key is pressed. If you want to track multiple key presses, then each time the function is called, record which key was just pressed in an array (do the same with a keyup function to clear them). Then you can check the array to see all the keys which are pressed at the current time...

Tristam MacDonald. Ex-BigTech Software Engineer. Future farmer. [https://trist.am]

And just to add on be sure you read them in individual ifs and not a set of else if's otherwise it will find one key and return.
Ok, I have it working but i have 2 problems with this, but first i will explain what I implemented:

I have something like this to atore info about pressed keys :
enum key_state {NOTPUSHED, PUSHED} keyarr[127];

for my array of pushed or notpushed values for every key, then i will initialized them all with notpushed value

then:
this is my : glutKeyboardFunc(key);
{
if(k == 'd')
keyarr[int('d')] = PUSHED;
if(k == 'w')
keyarr[int('w')] = PUSHED;
if(k == 'r')
keyarr[int('r')] = PUSHED;
glutPostRedisplay();
}

this is my : glutKeyboardUpFunc(keyup);