Sign in to follow this  
Capsule03

DirectX 11 , Beginner Simple Animation Question

I'm just learning how to use DirectX11, and I've hit a snag. I've gone through all the 'tutorial' samples in the SDK, and I've searched online (and on gamedev) for code samples or tutorials, but I can't figure out a really simple thing.

Lets say I have a cube and a pyramid. For simplicity, all the application does is rotate the cube around the (stationary) pyramid. How do I do this?

The only thing that I've found is in the SDK. In the transform tutorial, they update a constant buffer every frame by setting a world matrix, and then drawing the object. Does this mean I have to set the world matrix, update the constant buffer, and call draw() for every single object that I render? (in this example, the moving cube. In a more general scope, perhaps hundreds of entities on the screen, meaning hundreds of draw calls).

Please direct me down the right track - a tutorial, sample code of any sort.. If I can find any code that handles simple animation like this, I'll be able to learn from it, but I'm completely lost.

If all you do is change the World matrix each frame, you don't need to update your Buffers. Create them once, fill them with data and finito. As long as the stored Data is supposed to be static, you don't need to update.

As for your other question, yes you have to set the World Matrix and then call the Draw function for each object you render. Unless you put EVERYTHING in one constant buffer, which personally, I don't like, and is very difficult to pull off.

(This is pulled straight out of my ass, so no guarantees this will actually work ;)

Your render Routine might look something like this:

// Set the Vertex Buffer for your Pyramid
pd3dDevice->IASetVertexBuffers( 0, 1, PyramidVB, Strides, Offsets );
pd3dDevice->IASetIndexBuffer( NULL, DXGI_FORMAT_R16_UINT, 0 );
pd3dDevice->IASetPrimitiveTopology( D3D10_PRIMITIVE_TOPOLOGY_TRIANGLELIST );