How to implement a Symmetric Key Cipher

Started by
11 comments, last by Mantear 13 years, 4 months ago
Recently, I've been looking into ways to encrypt and protect my files. I've always kept hashes of my files to verify their integrity, but now I'd like to encrypt them as well.

The first method that came to mind (since I will be the only one encrypting or decrypting) was to XOR the files bit-by-bit (or byte-by-byte depending on how the i/o stream works) with some key. Basically a Symmetric Key Cipher.

I'm not sure how to generate the key though. Could I just use a password-length key and do the following?

for (i=0; i<length(plaindata); i++) encrypted = key[i%length(key)]^plaindata;

It seems simple enough, secure enough, reversible, and at first glance I don't see anything horribly inefficient about it.

However, I've never done anything like this before so I wouldn't be surprised if I was doing something silly or pointless.
Advertisement
its ridiculously insecure. if you encrypt a well known file type, i can attack using the certain magic strings contained within the file. if its source for cpp, good guess that the word "include" is used, etc.

How so?

I'm not using a single substitution cipher.

Where 'include' might be encrypted to one string, elsewhere it'd be likely with a probability of (key_length - 1) / (key_length) to be encrypted to something different.

I think you might have confused this method for a single substitution cipher which would have the flaw you're describing.
ive done it for project euler

http://projecteuler.net/index.php?section=problems&id=59

quite easily. unless im misunderstanding your scheme, and if so i apologize for the confusion