Sign in to follow this  
biggjoee5790

Starting Game programming.. Java?

biggjoee5790    229
Hey guys.

So Ive been programming in Java for a few years now, but nothing game related. I am quite comfortable programming in Java.. although I do know Python and C/C++ on a beginner/medium level. Since I want to do game programming, and since its a notoriously difficult thing to do, I thought it would make sense to use the language that Im the best with. So, how can I start game programming in Java?.. or better yet.. should I even bother? If its a good idea,, what libraries will I need for 2D games? It seems like other languages are more clear cut... for C++ Id just use SDL, for Python I'd use pygame, etc. Mind you I dont want some pre fabricated game engine... just the API to access graphics, sound, input, etc. Basically I want to do as much on my own as I can, because its all about learning for me. Once I have a library, where do I start. People have said do something simple like tetris or breakout... but I wouldnt even know where to start.

fireside7    213
If you want the minimum for java, you want lwjgl. It's a wrapper around opengl with sound. If you don't need hardware accelleration, then you can program graphics and sound with java in an applet or whatever with the built in libraries. One site to ask more specific questions is javagaming.org.

biggjoee5790    229
I was actually looking at LWJGL, seems good. So you said Id I dont need hardware acceleration, I could just use an applet? So I could just program all of my logic simply using the Java base language and display graphics using the AWT? Such as just drawing rectangles or whatever other shapes I need? Also, how do I know if I need hardware acceleration?

heromal    100