Sign in to follow this  
Cold_void344

Some Questions about making a text based / time based game

First off, Greetings i am new to GameDev

Over the last couple of months, i have been thinking about creating (or learning how to) make a text based / time based game (mmorpg) such as www.movoda.net and www.syrnia.com.

I know that i can not just learn how to make one, it takes time (alot of time) and dedication.

I am wondering what i should learn first, and what i should learn to make a game such as those games i posted above.

If anyone could give me some advice, i will be very gratefull :-)

Greetings to you at gamedev.

although I dont know what is time-based (maybe turn-based?) I heard something about mmorpg-s, so try to inform you as well as I can.

Learning to create an mmorpg is one of the hardest tasks possible, and is not said to be a suitable task for a single person. It requires a team of coders and very much time (month / years) of programming, not to mention the long learning curve (few years), although even the simple syntaxed languages (like python) are capable of doing such tasks.

would advise you:Try to create simple text-based 1 player games at the beginning, they re good novice level tasks. Later learning of net programming will be necessary for mmorpgs, and you can experiment with these, but as I heard they really require far too much time. Perhaps there is an MMORPG creator existing somewhere, that would be a solution.

Bye.

I'll echo ldmn's comments:

Progression from a single player game to multiplayer game is a logical approach.

The way I approached things was to do the following:
Built a sequential text game, only processing after i'd entered a command, a simple "here is a room, here are the exits" kind of maze.
- covered basic input/output approaches, structures for data and storing and loading maps from memory.