"Pre-Made" FPS Engines Only Requiring Models?

Started by
2 comments, last by LancerSolurus 13 years, 4 months ago
Hello,

I'm a hobby-level 3D artist fairly well versed in 3DSmax and Blender. I've done a few models for programmer acquaintances to use in mods and games but never programmed anything myself. Formatting/scaling a finished model to be imported into an engine is as close to "programming" as I've been. Quite frankly I'm not even sure what an engine does but lets not go there.

I'm one of those people who knows how to write "Hello World" in about 10 languages, but once the tutorial hits the apparently functionless jargon you need to "remember for later", I start hitting my head against the wall. Visual learner I guess. That combined with being a full-time student in a non-computer subject, I've given up on learning to program (for now) due to time constraints. However, I still want to "make" a game.

So it's not a "How to I learn?" thread, but rather a "Can I focus on what I already specialize in and end up with a commercial-quality game?" thread. In my case 3D.

I've noticed that even great programmers often opt for "pre-made" engines, since the fundamentals seem to be similar for a lot of games and don't warrant re-writing.

What level of knowledge do engine packages like Torque3D and Unity require? I'm guessing you actually need to know how to program to end up with a finished game after buying one of those licenses. True or false?

In my case, all of the unique ideas I have are related to models/textures/audio/dialogue/storyline/etc.

Not physics/gameplay. Whether the default gameplay is Battlefield 2-ish or Tribes 2-ish, it doesn't really matter to me, I can adapt to it. I'd like it to be decent. That's about it.

Basically my question is:

1. There are really professional "engine packages" (seemingly) for experienced coders out there.