Sign in to follow this  
katie1993

laptop/computer recommendations

hey guys
i was wandering if you could tell me what the best laptop or computer would be for game programming
i was told a macbook pro but today i was told a dell

would also be great if could use it for every day things aswell such as facebook thanks x

Well that depends... what kind of language do you want to use?

If you want to use c# and xna/slimdx than a windows machine would be your best bet. Otherwise either a mac or windows should work (such as for c++ or java).

As far as internet browsing goes, such as facebook, both windows and mac can do that. :)

if im honest im just starting out and havent got a clue what any of it means :) total novice it just seemed like a really good idea but finding the right software is hard as everyone has different opinions

but thanks you have been a great help x

I like my Macbook. Contrary to popular belief, they're not that much more expensive than a comparable PC of comparable build-quality, battery life, and overall 'niceness'. Everyone says different, but when pressed for a comparison to a PC laptop they almost always pull up some no-name brand, fire sale item or self-build. They can also boot into windows using bootcamp or through virtualization (although you get limited 3D hardware acceleration, which may or may not matter to you.)

If you were to get a mac now, I might recommend you the new 13" air -- no disc drive, but the screen resolution is higher than the 13" pro (at least until they update the pro line). The extra screen real estate can come in handy.