Sign in to follow this  
Kryogenik

Convert Quaternion to Yaw Pitch Roll

I am messing around with Havok, and I'm trying to position and rotate my object the same as the corresponding rigid body in havok. The rigid body has getPosition and getRotation functions in it, which is good. But the getRotation function returns a Quaternion.

From what I understand, a Quaternion is made up of 4 numbers. The first 3 being x, y, and z values in an axis vector (or whatever you call it), and the 4th being the amount of rotation around that axis. But thats all I know about Quaternions, since I have no experience with them and have been using Yaw, Pitch and Roll for 3d rotations since I started making 3d games.

Is there any way I can get the Yaw, Pitch and Roll for my object from the Quaternion havok returns? Thanks.

Here's also a nice help site on all things math for 2D, 3D applications and programming in general (linked to his quaternion page):

http://www.euclideanspace.com/maths/algebra/realNormedAlgebra/quaternions/index.htm

Quaternions are just one way to represent a rotation and themselves can be a bit less cumbersome to use (as opposed to lugging a rotation matrix around). A common reason for not using euler angles is because you have the chance of gimbal lock - where you lose a degree of freedom. Bringing the rotations into 4D space helps prevent this.

Here's some more information about gimbals:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gimbal_lock

Quote:
Original post by Starnick
Bringing the rotations into 4D space helps prevent this.
That's not correct, I don't think. You can avoid gimbal lock as easily with matrices as you can with quaternions, so it doesn't seem to me that the 4-d aspect would have any bearing.