Sign in to follow this  
storasdev

What tools should I choose for a given task

Hello,

I have extensive experience in software development in general, now I want to try simple game development, I know what result I want, but not sure what tools and what development flow should I choose and I don't want to invent a wheel.
More details on what I want:
Programming language: Java;
I would prefer 2D, but 3D is also ok.
I want to create game with really simple graphics, and good physics support. What is in this sample (graphics and physics) is sufficient: http://www.jbox2d.org/demos/washingmachine.html
BUT, I want to use animations of characters (ragdolls in this case) which could be affected by physics, or interchanged between physics generated animations (pendulum, friction, bouncing and so on) and predefined animations (character walking, waving, sitting, running, climbing stairs).
Problem is I could not find any software that would help to create those animations (I mean sprites is not a solution - I need to have skeleton!)!
And I really do not want to CODE those animations by providing coordinates of joints
and moving them in time, especially because I'm thinking about A LOT of animations! They should be created with some GUI tool :)
The best I can think of is creating object animations in some 3D software, then somehow mapping 3d objects to character skeleton definition, loading animations in game and then interchangeably applying predefined animations or physics engine generated animations.
I would limit character movements in 3D world to constant Z-axis for 2D-like game look&feel.
Since all the work (graphics, animations and programming) will be done by me, I'm seeking for a simplest and least overall work requiring solution.
Any suggestions for tools or tips on technique, game engines? :)