• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Endurion

OpenGL Shader management with lights

This topic is 2926 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi,

I'm rather new with shaders (I've just managed to get my first shader to compile and work in a game). I however have a neat abstracted library under my belt that for now works with the good old fixed function pipeline.

The library abstracts the renderers in DLLs and thus allows me to exchange DX8, DX9 or OpenGL renderer. The display states are set indirectly, I provide a method SetShader with enum for example render flat (texture modulates with vertex color), render with flat with alpha test, etc. This seems to fit quite nicely with real shaders.

However a nuisance comes with lights. For fixed function I have my 8 lights which I simply enable/disable. Due to abstracting I want to have it working without D3DX. I chose HLSL with precompiled shaders. But how should I approach lights?

As it looks I'd have to compile every shader in at least 8 variantes for every light. That feels cumbersome. Is that really the way to go?

Advertisement
Very interesting question indeed, I'd also be interested in knowing more.
In the past, I had some success by setting up internal system-specific conventions ("the engine_lights array contains the lights to evaluate, it counts engine_active_lights entries). Unfortunately, I rapidly went mad at managing the different light used (directional, omni, spot, shadowcasting y/n, projective y/n).
I have then tried various approaches but so far I failed in finding a satisfying generic solution. My best bet is that one should start from final product's requirements and very likely deal with the problem at different levels.
Deferred shading sounds very interesting to this regard but I am still not sold on it.

Quote:
Original post by Endurion