Sign in to follow this  
CulDeVu

Dev-C++ doesn't work anymore

Hello all.

I am a mediocre programmer and make win32 applications and games. However, recently I started to teach a friend of mine (we're both freshmen at a governor's school) all about c++. He was a complete noob, knowing only how to declare and multiply variables and stuff. He didn't even know modulus! But I digress.

I haven't programmed console applications in a long time, but when I started teaching him, I found that console applications won't work anymore. I have tried installing a new version and uncompressing all of the files in the include folder, but nothing worked.

The only way console applications will work is that a make a project, but I would like to teach him through a source file first before moving on to projects, and I need to be sort of a role model for his teachings.

Here is the code:

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
cout << "hi-o\n\n";
system("pause");
return 0;
}

I know it works, but it just doesn't. All the window shows is the 'Press any key too continue...' pause command thingy. No 'hi-o' can be seen.

If any of you know what's going on, please help!

cout << "hi-o\n\n";

instead of \n use std::endl:
cout << "hi-o" << std::endl << std::endl;

Optionally, there is a way to explicitly flush the output buffer:
cout << "hi-o" << std::endl << std::endl << std::flush;

Quote:
I found that console applications won't work anymore.

I am pretty sure they do!

Apart from that, I agree with rip-off: don't use dev-c++.

std::cout << std::endl is equivalent to std::cout << '\n' << std::flush. Sending std::endl to a stream flushes it twice, and following with another std::flush is pointless.