Sign in to follow this  
benjaminehill

what AI should i use

I am looking for advice.

i am making a dodge ball type game. where the player trys to remove the ball from themself. this is done by throwning and hitting another player with the ball. the players will have spells that will help in this task.

in this game i would like to add bots. but i don't know which technec to use.

any advice would be helpful.

I have to agree with above... the game doesn't define the AI. The actions that agents take defines the AI. If you list actions, we can list techniques. Of course, once you actually start to list actions, the AI should start to take shape anyway.

So the standard technique I've been using for AI for about 10 years (and 7 games) now...

1) Enumerate all of the things that the AI can do. Dodge. Throw ball. Catch ball. Run over to ball. That might be it for this game?

2) You need a way to pick one of those to do. I usually have an evaluator function that scores each one and selects the best (or picks one randomly, using the score as a weight - I've done it both ways). This is small and simple enough (if that really is all the possible actions) that a finite state machine might work better.

3) That's your high-level AI. Now you need to write the low-level AI that handles actually executing those. I.E. turning toward the ball, running over to it, picking it up, turning toward the player, throwing it, etc.

OK thx so fare been a lot of help. as for actions here goes:

the idea is that there is only one ball in the game and this ball removes life. pawns (AI and Players) will try and remove the ball from themself.

the ball can't be dripped. it can only be thrown.

the ball is attached to a pawn and is only de-attached when another pawn is hit by the ball (the ball will then be attached to the pawn that was hit). if the ball is thrown and misses then it returns to the pawn that throw it.

life can only be lost by two means
- the pawn has the ball in their hands