Sign in to follow this  

Sound manager - By the book

This topic is 2550 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Im in the making of a 2D game engine. I have plans using the XACT that goes hand in hand with XNA to use and controll sounds. But what Im wonder is, what is the usual aproach for handling sounds?

I have a component built engine where everything is an entity. Should I store the sounds and play them by the entity whenever it want to, or should I have the entity request a sound to be played by a soundmanager class?

Since Ive never worked that much with sound I like to hear some advice before I start so I wont be running into problems that could've been avoided. Feel free to post links with good tutorials or tell me about your solutions with pros/cons.

//Doggolainen

I'm by no means an expert but I would treat sound in a similar way to your visuals. If your entities "own" a model (or sprite) then they should own a sound source (but not the sound) too. If your splitting logic from the view (as in your entities don't own their own visual) then do the same for the sound sources.

With OpenAL there are 3 main parts, a sound listener (like a camera just for sound), a sound source (where a sound is coming from) and finally the sounds themselves. The sounds should be owned by your manager perhaps. The sound sources are up to you but I'd treat them in the same way as you would a sprite/mech. Multiple entities may be playing the same "walking" sound, one sound but multiple sources.