Sign in to follow this  

A few general XNA questions

This topic is 2551 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everybody. So this is my second post, but I didn't really properly introduce myself in the first one. I'm Kris and I'm excited to be here, although as you might have guessed, I have very little experience with programming. I had an introductory course on Java at OU, and I've read up on C++ a little bit, but I haven't ever done anything very exciting with either language. As far as game development goes, I toyed around with RPG Maker XP pretty religiously a while back and had a great time with the scripting language that it uses. As you can see, I want to take it to the next level and start actually programming games. I decided to go with XNA, as it seems like it would provide me with a relatively painless transition between scripting and programming. Anyway, on to a few very general questions...

I've been reading tutorials and I actually bought a book on XNA, but all of these sources seem to discuss things on a level that really only accounts for a one screen game like pong, galaga, asteroids, etc... I'm more interested in a larger scale project, but of course, if I'm making a very large game, I probably don't want all of the logic to appear in that one update method in the game class. Right now, I'm working on a title screen. So, I decided I would make a separate class for the title. My first question is: for a bigger game, does ALL of the content need to be loaded in at the beginning in the load content method? Or do you load and unload the content as it is needed?