Sign in to follow this  

Using graphics technology to create unique styles more

This topic is 2538 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

It seems like most graphics technology and shaders and such are only used to achieve more realism, and sometimes nice cartoony effects. I think we as graphics programmers should also use this technology more to create unique and weird things, experiment with them! So I made a graphical argument about that:

The endless possibilities of art styles

I'd like to hear how you think about this!

Some parts of the presentation:

This is mostly an art issue, not a tech issue. As a graphics programmer I don't come up with a bunch of shaders, bestow them upon the artists, and say "here is what you must use to achieve your artistic vision!". Instead I create frameworks and tools which the artists can use achieve the look they want, and also implement new features based on their requests. I mean if you're a creative, artsy sort of guy and you want to find new ways to use tech to realize your artistic vision then go for it! But myself and most other programmers I know are engineers, not artists. They work at solving tech problems, not art problems. So I'd imagine that you're talking to the wrong audience here. [wink]

he's not talking to the wrong audience. because art only exists with the right tech behind it. if all the programmers strive to implement crysis, then the artists get bumpapped shiny surfaces and nice oceans even if they might not want it.

but mostly, he talks about not constraining yourself to the typical thing: copying the existing things. try new stuff. best: together with your artist.

Quote:
Original post by davepermen