Sign in to follow this  

String problem

This topic is 2545 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi ,
i got a struct and some code:

struct Player {

std::string name;

int x;
int y;
};

player p;

void main(){

char pname[20];
printf("Enter name :");
cin.getline (pname,20);

p.name = pname;

}

I then send the struct p to a server, but when the packet returns the string disapears (all other normal data sent and recieved is fine).

Can we send strings with sockets ?

thx for replys :)

I'm not a network programmer but no, probably not.

A std::string is almost certainly represented internally as a pointer to memory containing the actual string so copying a string in binary form just copies the pointer which, on the recieving end, will point to nothing sensible.

I think to send strings across network, you need to use a char buffer of a preset size.

[EDIT] The mod's aren't keen on cross-posting here, although your other post is probably in a better forum.

As Aardvajk said, std::string is allocating the string on the heap with an internal pointer, so you can't send the structure as it is.
What you need to do is to construct a Serialization function/method for your structure which packs the data so you are able to send through the socket, and once it has arrived you Deserialize it back to the structure.

lol i didnt think it so hard just to send a message..

Isn't there a normal way to send a struct with a message from a socket to
another ?

If not , are there any simple guides to serialization ?

Since you are already setting a maximum size for your name in the input function, just replace the std::string in your struct with a char[20] array.

Make sure you null append the text you put in the array, then send the entire array over the network.