Sign in to follow this  

Beginner networking questions

This topic is 2537 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi

I have made several games in c++ but im completely new to network programming. Some Qs:

1. Im working on a turn-based strategy game where players take turns moving units around in a tile-based world (like advanced wars, early civ etc). What is the best basic procedure for handling this? Should each player hold a complete copy of all units and all terrain? When a player wants to move a unit, should i send a move-command to the server, and it tells all clients to move the specific unit? Should the players client move it first and then itself tell all other clients to move "their" units as well?

2. I've looked into network engines and think raknet could be good. I look for simplicity foremost (and it needs to be free for non-commercial projects). Any other suggestions? I dont need very advanced features as far as I understand.

3. I would like to setup some kind of lobbyserver. If i dont, players must connect to each other by typing in the ip-nr of the guy hosting each game right? Is there any free services for lobbyservers or do i need to buy one? The game will still run with one user as the server once a match launches, the lobby-server thing will only serve as a mean for players playing my game to find each other.

Thanks for your input
Erik

First off, I'm along way from networking in my programming practice, but I think each player must keep a local copy of each unit, else the server will need to send a message to each client for each mouse over or click that that player would make(to get stats, legal moves, etc). the server would also keep a copy of the game, and it would be the authority on combat and what not(and could be a client itself).