• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Darego

Need Some Info

This topic is 2717 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey guys, i'll try to keep this short and simple.

well i'm in my first year in college doing a 4 year computer science degree and i'v just finished my first semester. we've being learning programming through java and so far we have done most basic java functions including if statements, loops, arrays etc (i'm currently working outside the course at home as well to get my programming knowledge more advanced)

so to the point! i have been always wanting to make my own 2D mmo game and i would love to get my head around what i would need to know to make one and where i need to start. i assume i would need to code a client first? then code up a map editor to make the world map? then eventually make all my own sprites (i think making all the sprites would be the hardest part right?) etc maybe this is a bit early for me to be asking this stuff but i'm sure i'll get there eventually. also is java the best language to do a 2d game with?

here's a pic of a game-client that it would look like (i would like to make the sprites similar also). it's a tile based game. would it be really that difficult to make something like this?
http://www.speedysha...97622/tibia.JPG

regarding how i will market it and get people to play it; i have been playing a 2d mmo for the last 6 years which has over 100,000 people playing through 80 servers daily. the thing is the developers of the game have really ruined the pvp in the game in the last few updates so i was thinking of making a very similar game with all the good stuff included. if i did this correctly i'm positive i will have a good number base for the game to start off with