• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
HalfThere

Give me some ideas for making a programming language

This topic is 2899 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Exactly what the topic title says. Just throw out ideas you think would be neat. Remember:
-This is a one-semester class, the project is towards the end of it. There will be 4-5 people working with me, but our total hours put into the project will still be limited
-I am not a programming whiz, or even close. An idea like "re-implement perl as a functional language" is probably wonderful, but I cannot parse that sentence, let alone program a parser for that language
-Other than the above, no rules

Advertisement
Do you have to create a general purpose language or a domain specific language is also acceptable? The latter is easier to design because your goals and constraints are better defined. I think quality, elegance and simplicity is more important than quantity in a project like that. You should define some goals and define your language around few strong ideas.

Have you done this before? If not, do something simple. Trust me, even that will entail a *lot* of work and long, sleepless nights.

Something pascal-based would be a good choice (a subset of pascal, e.g. PCL). I'd avoid C and/or OO constructs for a first project and would probably try to add a few optimization passesd for extra credits (but only if everything else worked and I had time to spare!)

Make sure you have a sane build environment and create lots of unit tests. In fact, first write a unit test then make sure it parses and compiles correctly.