• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
taz0010

SSE2 optimisation

This topic is 2706 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've never used the SSE intrinsics in MSVC before, so I'm looking for advice on whether my particular algorithm can be made faster. It involves determining if a plane intersects a convex polygon in 3D space. While the algorithm runs a very large number of times, I don't think I can parallelise across separate operations, as subsequent stages of the process modify the data set. Plus I'm using MSVC's STL so I don't have 16 byte alignment on my Vec3s.

The plane to convex polygon algorithm is as follows:

- Iterate over the polygon's points, calculating the point-to-plane distance of each
- The plane intersects the polygon if:
a) Distance p and p+1 have opposite signs and have magnitude greater than epsilon
or
B) Distance p is within epsilon of zero, but p-1 and p+1 have magnitude greater than epsilon and opposite signs
- An edge of the polygon lies on the plane if
a) Distance p and p+1 are both within epsilon of zero

First I was thinking of using intrinsics to evaluate dv = (planePt - v).dot(planeN) each iteration, but maybe it would be better to calculate the operation for 4 points in parallel. But I don't know if the above process can be adapted to SSE, or if it's even worth trying.

Could anyone with experience using SSE give me some advice here? Is this an avenue worth persuing at all?

Advertisement
Another thing to think about -- do you only ever need to test one plane against one polygon? Or do you have many planes, and many polygons that you need to test?

If so, you can use SSE to do something like testing a batch of 4 different planes against 1 polygon at once.