• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
krishnateja

Photon mapping

This topic is 2804 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello guys, :rolleyes:

my name is krishna teja

im new to this forum. Joined this forum having good interest in graphics and also want to develop my skills.

my friend recommended to join this forum..

Im doing my masters degree, as part of our college project we should do the following..

Interactive ray-tracer using photon mapping technique:

*Background:
Global illumination methods are required to achieve realistic image synthesis of general environments. Illumination effects such as shadows, caustics, and indirect illumination are important visual cues that add to the perceived realism of a rendered scene. Photon mapping is a widely used algorithm for global illumination, where one traces pho tons through the scene, recording their interaction with the elements in the scene in a data structure, called the photon map and using this photon map to estimate the physical phenomena such as caustics, diffusion, shadows, etc., to do the final rendering. Since this is a computationally intensive process, the advent of graphics hardware has enabled interactivity in the rendering.

*Create a GPU-based stochastic ray tracer that uses the photon map to simulate full global illumination directly on the graphics hardware, with
progressive, interactive feedback to the user.

*http://www.graphics.stanford.edu/papers/photongfx/ (this was given by our professor)

*Given time to complete this project 3 months :(

*i want to ask u guys how to proceed with this one and which language to use..i.e to use whether (CUDA/Opengl/Opencl/Directx API)

thank u in advance...

Advertisement
Depends on what you already know, if you are an expert in DirectX with CUDA, you should go that route.